Consultative Selling and Negotiations

March 22, 24-25, 2021 Facilitated virtual learning
July 27-29, 2021 • Facilitated virtual learning

November 16-17, 2021 • Scottsdale, AZ
(These dates are tentative and subject to change) 
For all brokers, managing general agents and underwriters who transact business and have relationships with clients 

About the Program

WSIA’s Consultative Selling and Negotiations is a customized sales training program for any surplus lines professional who transacts business. With the current restrictions and changes due to COVID-19, Richardson has converted the originally two-day 2021 program into a facilitated virtual learning three-day experience. This program focuses on expectations in transactional relationships, styles of selling and negotiating, and offers insight into individual strategies and habits. Consultative Selling and Negotiations is not about hard sales tactics. The curriculum prepares participants to develop relationships and place focus on their customers rather than themselves. 
The program is offered regionally throughout the year in small group settings, so participants receive individualized instruction. The program is co-produced by Richardson, a leading global sales training and strategy execution company, well-versed in sales training within the surplus lines market. Learn more about Consultative Selling and Negotiations in the informational program brochure

Who Should Attend

The program is designed for all brokers, managing general agents and underwriters who transact business. It is most beneficial to those E&S professionals who have relationships with clients.

Registration and Fees

  • If you are interested in attending the July or November 2021 program and would like to be notified in advance when registration opens for those programs, please click here.
  • Registration is $1,095 per participant.
  • Contact Denise Marshall, denise@wsia.org, with any questions. 

WSIA Virtual Education Programs Work!

Past participants provide feedback on the virtually-facilitated Consultative Selling and Negotiations program.

"The instructor was extremely engaged. Every time we broke into a different room to break down a case study, he popped in to see how we were doing, provided feedback and guided us through the process.”
Anthony Villano, AmWINS Group, Inc.

“I think it comes down to the instructor - Mark wasn't intimidated by the technology, acknowledged that virtual learning is tough and addressed potential issues. He told us from the start that we needed to have our cameras on and participate to make it work. He also understood if we had to step away for a short time to handle other things. It was really well done overall!”
Christen Sawyer, AmWINS Group, Inc.

What Alumni Have To Say

Watch a short video to learn more about Consultative Selling and Negotiations and what past attendees have to say about their experiences.

“The small group setting is ideal for learning. Also, the role playing is structured in a way (small table groups) where you are not intimidated and can practice techniques that you are learning through the day. The class moves along at a pace that keeps you awake and engaged. Well thought-out and put together materials.” 
Kristen Horlacher, Superior Underwriters

“The class itself really makes you think about every single interaction you have daily. It gives you the opportunity to slow down and develop your sales and negotiation skills. It helps you understand how carriers/underwriters and brokers do business every day and what they value most of all. It gives you the opportunity to develop your value proposition clearly and concisely.”
Trey Renno, Risk Placement Services

Read more feedback from past attendees about their Consultative Selling and Negotiations experiences. 

Schedule of Events

The newly adjusted program schedule follows a three-day format with built-in breaks.  Monday, March 22
10:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m. ET
9:00 a.m. - 2:30 p.m. CT
8:00 a.m. - 1:30 p.m. MT
7:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. PT    

Tuesday, March 23
No class

Wednesday, March 24
10:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m. ET
9:00 a.m. - 2:30 p.m. CT
8:00 a.m. - 1:30 p.m. MT
7:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. PT    

Thursday, March 25
10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. ET
9:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. CT
8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m. MT
7:00 a.m. – 9:00 a.m. PT

Travel Information

No travel is required for the March 2021 program since Richardson converted Consultative Selling and Negotiations into a facilitated virtual learning experience.

Consultative Selling and Negotiations Program Cancellation Policy
  • Registrants can receive a full refund, less a $50 fee for processing, if the request is made by February 15, 2021.
  • Registrants can receive a 50% refund between February 16 and March 1, 2021.
  • No refund is offered after March 1, 2021.
  • Should you cancel after February 16, you will have a limited time opportunity to substitute someone else at your firm as an alternative to the above refund policy.
  • All requests must be made in writing to Denise Marshall, denise@wsia.org.